Debate Camp - Staff

Jayhawk Debate Institute Staff 

The Jayhawk Debate Institute year after year has one of the finest staff of debate coaches and instructors you will find anywhere in the country. Here is a list of some of the great staff members at the 2014 JDI!

Camp Director
Dr. Scott Harris is the David B. Pittaway Director of Debate at the University of Kansas.  He has won numerous debate coaching awards including: the Brownlee Debate Coach of the Year Award in 2015; the Northwestern Debate Society Award for excellence in coaching in 2010;  the Ovid Davis Award for coaching in 2009; the George Ziegelmueller Award for excellence in debate coaching in 2006;  and the Debate Coach of the Year Award from Wake Forest University in 2006. He served as President of the American Forensic Association 2012-2014 and Vice-President 2010-2012. He is currently Vice-President of the Cross Examination Debate Association.  He has taught at many debate camps including the University of Michigan, Michigan State University, Stanford University and Baylor University.




Upcoming Events

2018 Debate Camp
Registration Online

More info »

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today
The Kansas team of Quaram Robinson and Will Katz have qualified to the 72nd National Debate Tournament via a first…