KU Debate

2021 Debate Squad

Co-Presidents Azja Butler and Nathan Martin

Squad Members: Benton Bajorek, Ethan Bastian, Camden Baxter, Azja Butler, Rebecca Cathey, Gabriel Esquivel-Yglesias, Ross Fitzpatrick, Ned Gidley, Mitchell Guyot, Jyleesa Hampton, Carolyn Hassett, Julia Henry, Derek Hilligoss, Jackson Hoffmann, Jacob Justice, William Katz, Xi Li, Miles Luce, Zaki Mansoor, Jon Mantis, Nathan Martin, Nick Massa, Maya McGregory, Michael McMahon, Lily Ottinger, Solomon Park, Jimin Park, Raina Peter, Graham Revare, Nico Rodriguez-Hanley, Haylee Rose, Michael Scott, Talya Slaw, Jet Semrick, Jesse Smith, Ryan Snow, Will Soper, Jacob Thomas, Alaina Walberg, Marcus Woodcock, and Sonya Zin.

2021 Season Highlights

  • National Debate Tournament Final Four, Elite Eight and Sweet 16
  • National Debate Tournament first and second individual speakers
  • Qualified 3 teams for elimination rounds at National Debate Tournament
  • Top Seed at both the NDT and CEDA National Tournaments
  • CEDA National Tournament Semifinalist
  • Second ranked squad in final National NDT Varsity rankings.
  • Winner University of Minnesota Invitational Tournament
  • Winner Hoosier Invitational Tournament
  • Winner of Joe C. Jackson Debate Tournament
  • Second place at Herbert L. James Round Robin Invitational at Dartmouth College
  • Second Place at Owen L. Coon Memorial Debate Tournament at Northwestern University

2020 Debate Squad

2020 Season Highlights

  • American Debate Association National Tournament Final Four
  • National Champion at National Junior Division Debate Tournament
  • Qualified three teams for National Debate Tournament
  • Winner of Robert F. Kennedy Tournament at Harvard University
  • Winner of California Swing Tournament 1 at University of California, Berkeley
  • Winner of California Swing Tournament 2 at University of California, Berkeley
  • Winner of Rowdy Debates Tournament at University of Texas-Dallas
  • Winner of Wayne State George Ziegelmueller Invitational Tournament
  • Winner of George R. R. Pflaum Debate Tournament

2019 Debate Squad

2019 Season Highlights

  • #1 Program in the Country in CEDA Overall Sweepstakes Rankings
  • National Debate Tournament Final Four
  • CEDA National Tournament Runner Up
  • Top Speaker at National Debate Tournament

  • 3 Teams qualified for National Debate Tournament


2018 National Champions


2018 Season Highlights

  • National Debate Tournament Champions
  • Winner of Copeland Award as #1 ranked individual team in the country
  • #2 ranked squad in NDT Varsity Debate Rankings
  • Winner of National Junior Division Debate Tournament Championship
  • Winner of Wake Forest Tournament
  • Winner of University of Kentucky Tournament
  • Winner of Georgia State University Tournament
  • Winner of University of Texas at Dallas Tournament





A tradition of excellence

Debate is one of the oldest activities on KU's campus. The first debate on campus was held on November 8, 1867.

The University of Kansas has one of the richest collegiate debate traditions in the nation. KU has competed in intercollegiate debate since 1885 and has one of the most successful policy debate programs in the country.

We invite you to explore the proud history of KU Debate, browse one of our unique Alumni areas, or learn more about KU Debate Camps. You can even make a donation on-line. Rock Chalk, Jayhawk!

  • #1 among public universities in National Debate Tournament (NDT) appearances
  • 6 NDT championships
  • 17 NDT final fours
  • 54 consecutive years qualifying for the NDT
  • #1 in NDT varsity rankings in 2015, 2008 and 2006
  • #1 in CEDA national rankings in 2019
  • 7 final fours in Cross Examination Debate Association national championship tournament since 1998





Upcoming Events

2022 Debate Camp
Registration Online

More info »

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today
Registration for this year's Jayhawk Debate Institute closes tomorrow, make sure you have your application in by to… https://t.co/rQhvlHPt4n